Christmas

</

Emily said to me today 'It's 7 weeks till Christmas! My goodness she is nearly right. By the weekend it is 7 weeks till Christmas, and how those weeks will fly! I actually started to listen to Christmas music today. I usually wait until after bonfire night, but after the morning i had, i needed something to cheer me up! As normal, it's a rush out the door ready for school. Both girls decided they did need to go to the toilet before we went, (glad we've got 2!) poor Chloe was waiting at the door for us! Next stop was Jarrow. I needED some milk, bread and we would be low on nappies by the weekend. Morrisons has an offer on again this Christmas. If i spend £40 or more each week for 6 out of the 8 weeks, i'll get a £25 gift voucher to spend instore. I've done it for the past few years, with similar incentives. So i thought i'd get some food shopping and even made a note as how much i'd spent. I gave up later as i realised i'd definately hit my £40 target. I actually spent £50! I still needed to get things for the shoe box appeal, but my pushchair was so heavy and Jacob was getting tired. We live not for from the shops, so i rang my dad to see if he'd be able to pick up my shopping (i don't normally do this). After he picked it up and went shopping himself, i tackled the shops for items. 4 shops later and i had everything i needed, apart from a ball, which i couldn't find anywhere! After a doll, dollys bottle, a mass amount of colouring things, paints, sweeties, hat, scarf, gloves, hairbrush, hair bobbles, face cloth, soap, toothbrush and paste, oh and of course the cuddly toy, i had a very sleepy young man, filled with chocolate buttons! Jacob does not sleep long in his pushchair, so now to keep him awake, but could i – no! Even carrying him, he fell asleep, so i popped him back in and practically ran all the way home! I got in the house, to my joy my shopping was there and not in the car waiting for me to unpack it, as threatened! Even the fridge things had been put away – thanks dad! I carried a sleeping Jacob upstairs and into his sleeping bag and into bed with hardly a stir. I sat down on my bed and realised how tired i was. This hour change, i usually love, but jacob wakes at 6am instead of 7! Well i decided to lie in bed and read my book. I don't normally sleep during the day, but i thought this time i would. I'd just settled to sleep when the dog, walked into Jacobs room. Ahhhhhhhh! Jacob woke up! I neither got the housework done or had a sleep and to top it off, a tired baby! So when i went downstairs to find the breakfast dishes and the rest of the shopping to put away, i decided right – time for the Christmas music to cheer me up! Jacob likes music and bobbed along to most of them! It did cheer me up and made me feel all Christmassy.

Tonight it was coming in dark when we went to pick Emily up from gardening club. We had chicken, rosties, carrots and sprouts for tea, it actually smelled really Christmassy. I played the cd again and Emily got sooo excited, this is when she preceeded to tell me it was only 7 weeks away, then made a Christmas sign for the window.

Well it is November now and actually theres not that long to get all organised! So i’m starting! I made some of my Christmas Fudge tonight. I’m going to have a go at packaging it up in chunks/slabs, as a trial run for any pressies i may want to make with it. I really want to get started on the gifts i want to sew too. Today i added to the calender on the ipad, and already November and December are really filling up! We would like to go to Hall Hill farm and Beamish this Christmas, i think i’ll have to pencil them in now! What i do need to make is a gift list. What i have, what i would like to make, supplies needed to make said gifts and gifts i want to buy. I had started doing this, but i think Jacob drew all over and got a hold of it! So new ones required in a set place, so it doesnt go missing! I also want to buy a bag that stores all the wrapping paper, sellotape, bows, giftags etc in. I’ve seen one in the studio catologue for £4. I think this would be quite a good investment and look neat too. Instead of having a carrier bag with various bits in, hanging from the handle of a cupboard in the kitchen!

I’ve started to read Christmas books too. I’ve just finished a fantastic one – The Twelve days of Christmas. It was great, all about being snowed in! I’m reading one now set in the 2nd world war. Well i’m off to go and read now , curled up in bed with a hot water bottle!

The pictures here are from last Christmas. My brother Aaron, took these shots – he’s a class photographer!

Leave a Reply

